Property Evidence Unit#
The Fort Collins Police Services Property & Evidence Unit is responsible for the integrity, storage, preservation, and eventual release or disposal of all property and evidence collected by officers during the course of their duties. The items under our care range from evidence, to personal belongings, to found property.
Claiming/Release of Property#
Releasing property in a timely manner is a primary objective for the Property & Evidence Unit. A letter/postcard will be sent to the owner when the property can be claimed provided the Unit has the correct address on file. Any property not claimed within the specified number of days on the notification (30-60 days depending on property type) will be considered abandoned and disposed of accordingly.
All releases are done by appointment only as there may be additional steps needed for the Evidence Unit to be able to release the property.
All item(s) will be released in accordance with the law and FCPS retention policy and procedures. The evidence unit does not release evidence without written authorization per FCPS policy; which may be required from the District Attorney’s Office, City Attorney’s Office, the investigator, and in some cases outside agencies. Contact the evidence unit during business hours to see if the property can be released, and to schedule an appointment to claim it if it is ready for release.
The property must be claimed by the owner (or designee as listed below) with a government-issued photo ID card.
Juvenile property may be released to the juvenile with proper identification or to the juvenile's parent or legal guardian.
If you are picking up property for another adult, you will need a valid state-issued photo ID and one of the following:
- A notarized letter from the person who owns the property or was in possession of it when it was collected that states specifically what item(s) are authorized for release
- A notarized Power of Attorney from the person who owns the property or was in possession of it when it was collected that states specifically what item(s) are authorized for release.
Firearms can only be released after a background check has been completed through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. CBI requires a valid Colorado ID or driver's license. If your background check is approved, you will be notified, and an appointment will be scheduled with an authorized Federal Firearms License dealer. There will be fees associated with this at the time of the release. Background checks can take 1-5 business days. Denials may be appealed through the CBI.