Skip to main content

Press Releases

Fort Collins Councilmembers appointed to National League of Cities councils

Released on Friday, March 8, 2024

Contact Information

  • Amy Resseguie, Lead Communications Specialist, 970-416-2738,
  • Sarah Kane, Executive Assistant to City Council, 970-416-2447,

The National League of Cities (NLC) has appointed several Fort Collins City Councilmembers to serve on member councils.

  • Councilmember Julie Pignataro was named Vice Chair of and Councilmember Tricia Canonico appointed to the University Communities Council, which works to share ideas and creative solutions to the unique challenges affecting university communities.
  • Councilmember Canonico was appointed to the Transportation & Infrastructure Services Committee, which advocates for federal funding opportunities for cities and towns, improving safety and connectivity, and leveraging innovation for all types of transportation.
  • Councilmember Pignataro was named a board member for, and Mayor Pro Tem Emily Francis and Councilmembers Canonico and Susan Gutowsky were appointed to the Women in Municipal Government (WIMG) Constituency Group, which brings together female municipal leaders and works to raise awareness about issues of concern to women and encourage women to seek public office in their communities.

The NLC is comprised of city, town and village leaders from across the country that are focused on improving the quality of life for their current and future constituents. The NLC works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy and drive innovative solutions.

NLC’s member councils and committees bring together leaders from communities that are similar in size, type or another important characteristic to provide space for local leaders to network and exchange ideas around issues of importance to these communities.

For more information visit