Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information

Visit for current updates

Para integrantes de la comunidad:

Historic Preservation

 Contact Information

Dept Head: Karen McWilliams

What is an historic resource? 

An historic resource is any resource (a building, structure, object, or site) that has importance to the past for association with important history, culture, or design. These places can be individually recognized, or could be a concentration of places known as an "Historic District." Buildings and other resources that help tell the story of an historic district are considered "contributing" to that district and are integral pieces of the larger historic story. 

In the United States, historic resources can be designated at all levels of government (local, state, or federal). You can learn more about the different levels of historic designation at the links below:

You can also research the history of your property by visiting the Fort Collins History Connection, a collaborative online research tool from the Fort Collins Museum of Discovery and the Poudre River Public Library District.

Fort Collins Landmarks

A historic landmark is a site, building, structure or object officially recognized as important to Fort Collins history by City Council (via an ordinance). That ordinance includes protections for the exterior of the property so that it retains visual connections to its important past. A Landmark can be important for many reasons, including importance to history, events, or trends, association with an important individual, or an excellent reflection of a particular style or type of building. 

Learn more

State Register

Colorado State Register of Historic Properties is a listing of the state's significant cultural resources worthy of preservation for the future education and enjoyment of Colorado's residents and visitors. The Colorado State Register program is administered by the Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation within the. The Society maintains an official list of all properties included in the Colorado State Register. Click here for a list of Fort Collins properties listed in the State Register.

National Register

The National Park Service administers the National Register of Historic Places. The National Register is the official Federal list of districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects significant in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture. National Register properties have significance to the history of their community state, or the nation. Nominations for listing historic properties come from State Historic Preservation Officers, from Federal Preservation Officers for properties owned or controlled by the United States Government, and from Tribal Historic Preservation Officers for properties on Tribal lands. Private individuals and organizations, local governments, and American Indian tribes often initiate this process and prepare the necessary documentation. A professional review board in each state considers each property proposed for listing and makes a recommendation on its eligibility. Click here for a list of properties in Fort Collins listed in the National Register.

National Historic Landmarks

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, just over 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who guide the nomination process for new Landmarks and provide assistance to existing Landmarks. Fort Collins only has one NHL in its area - the Lindenmeier Archaeological site north of the city. Read more...