Skip to main content

COVID-19 Information

Visit for current updates. Para integrantes de la comunidad:

City Council

District 4 Vacancy - Applications Closed#

Applications have closed for the City Council District 4 seat, which will be vacated Dec. 31 following Kristin Stephens’s election to the office of Larimer County Commissioner.

Applicants for the D4 seat are:

  • Jessica Dyrdahl
  • Erin Hottenstein
  • Philip Jensen
  • Veronica Olivas
  • Shirley Peel
  • Melanie Potyondy
  • Sidna Rachid
  • William Wright

Candidate information is available for review in the Council agenda materials. Community members can provide comment on the candidates via the form below, or during the Dec. 22 and Jan. 5 Council meetings.

City Council will hold interviews on Jan. 6 before ultimately voting to select a candidate to fill the seat.

The appointment will last until a newly elected Councilmember is sworn in following the April 2021 municipal election. If the appointed Councilmember wishes to retain the District 4 seat, they will need to run for election in April 2021.

District 4 Vacancy Informationhighlight_off

On Monday, November 30, District 4 Mayor Pro Tem Kristin Stephens announced her resignation from the City Council effective December 31, 2020.  Ms. Stephens was elected by the voters in District 4 in April 2017 and reelected in April 2019.

Requirements for Filling Vacancyhighlight_off

Article II, Section 18 of the Charter of the City of Fort Collins defines what creates a vacancy, and requires that any vacancy on the Council, except for the office of Mayor, must be filled within 45 days (in this case, on or before February 14).  The person appointed to fill the vacancy shall serve until the next regular election (April 2021), when the electors of District 4 will elect a new District 4 representative.  The appointment will continue until the new representative is sworn in.  If the appointed candidate desires to continue to serve as the District 4 Councilmember, he/she must run as a candidate in the April 2021 election.

Process for Filling Vacancyhighlight_off

The City Council has determined that applications from individuals interested in filling the District 4 Council seat will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, December 18, 2020.  Applications can be emailed to the City Clerk’s office at, hand-delivered to the City Clerk’s Office, 300 LaPorte Avenue, or mailed to the City Clerk’s Office at PO Box 580, Fort Collins, CO  80522.  No applications will be accepted after 5:00 p.m. on December 18, 2020.  The application must be accompanied by a notarized candidate affidavit and a financial disclosure statement.  The City Clerk’s Office can provide notary services at no charge, if the applicant appears in person to sign the affidavit in the presence of a notary and has photo identification.  Notary arrangements must be scheduled ahead of time due to current COVID restrictions.

The City Council currently plans to interview applicants at a special meeting on Wednesday, January 6, 2021 and will make a final selection and adopt a resolution making the appointment at an adjourned meeting on January 12, 2021.  The selected individual will take the oath of office at the regular meeting on January 19, 2021.

Qualifications for District 4 Applicantshighlight_off
  • A United States citizen
  • A registered voter in the city for one year immediately prior to the appointment
  • At least 21 years of age
  • A resident of Council District 4 (check your Council district)
  • Never convicted of a felony
Application Materialshighlight_off

Applications are due by 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 18, 2020.

Applications may be submitted:

  • Via email:
  • Via mail: City Clerk's Office, P.O. Box 580, Fort Collins, CO 80522
  • In person: City Clerk's Office, 300 Laporte Ave.