Skip to main content

Social Sustainability

 Contact Information

LGBTQ+ Subcommittee

In May 2016, the City formed an LGBTQ+ committee composed of City staff and two community liaisons. The goal of the subcommittee is to ensure our LGBTQ+ community is safe, valued and affirmed within the City organization and community at large.

To that end, we have established a Police Services liaison; attended collaborative meetings with Poudre School District, Northern Colorado Equality, and One Colorado to help support transgender students in the school district; issued a proclamation for Pride Month every year since 2016; and are currently reviewing the City's purchasing procedures to ensure LGBT and gender identity are covered in all relevant non-discrimination clauses.

The committee is also working closely with the Human Rights Campaign to elevate our municipal rating.

Watch the committee receiving the Pride Month Proclamation (June 2018)
HUD LGBTQ+ discrimination resources for housing, health and human services, employment, and more

In 2018, the LGBTQ+ Subcommittee will be focusing their efforts on:

  • Pride Month proclamation
  • Internal Pride and National Coming Out Day events
  • Addressing Municipal Equality Index (MEI) scorecard criteria

2018 MEI Scorecard

Committee Members:

  • Heather Cox, Communications & Public Involvement Office, Co-Chair | aGNveEBmY2dvdi5jb20=
  • Tess Schmitz, City Attorney's Office, Co-Chair | dHNjaG1pdHpAZmNnb3YuY29t
  • Clint Andrews, Information Technology
  • Heidi Wagner, Utilities
  • Janet Freeman, Social Sustainability
  • Meaghan Overton, Planning
  • Olivia Terrell, Information Technology
  • Patty Netherton, Municipal Court
  • Ash Karpierz, Parks
  • Rob Hope, Sustainability
  • Christine Arnott, HR
  • Amanda Mansfield, FC Moves
  • Teresa Roche, HR Liaison
  • Carol Workman, Police Liaison
  • Kimberly Chambers, Community Member
  • Alma Vigo-Morales, Community Member
  • Lucien Meadows, Community Member (Museum of Discovery)


  • Michelle Becker, Utilities
  • Samantha Velasquez, Utilities
  • Honore Depew, Environmental Services
  • Peter Robertson, Parks
  • Jackie Kozak Thiel, Sustainability Services
  • Mallory Gallegos, Transfort
  • Alison Van Deutekom, Neighborhood Services
  • Jessica Prentice, Finance
  • Beth Sowder, Social Sustainability