Skip to main content

Social Sustainability

PRIDE Employee Resource Group#

In May 2016, the City formed an LGBTQIA+ committee—now known as the PRIDE Employee Resource Group—composed of City staff and two community liaisons. The goal of the subcommittee is to ensure our LGBTQIA+ community is safe, valued and affirmed within the City organization and community at large.

To that end, the team has

  • established Police Services liaisons and a City Executive Liaison
  • attended collaborative meetings with Poudre School District, Northern Colorado Equality, and One Colorado to help support transgender students in the school district
  • issued a proclamation for Pride Month every year since 2016
  • updated the City's purchasing policy to ensure that sexual orientation and gender identity are covered in all relevant non-discrimination clauses
  • implemented gender neutral bathroom signage for City's single-stall facilities
  • has championed the need for trans-inclusive healthcare benefits, which the City adopted in 2021.

PRIDE also works closely with the Human Rights Campaign to elevate the City's Municipal Equality Index (MEI) score, which evaluates cities on how inclusive and welcoming they are for LGBTQ+ people. Primarily due to PRIDE's efforts, the City's MEI score has risen from 83 (2018) to 95 (2019/2020)!

In 2021, the PRIDE team will be focusing their efforts on:

  • Gender Nondiscrimination & Identity Trainings
  • Pride Month proclamation, Transgender Awareness Month proclamation + Internal Pride and National Coming Out Day events
  • Addressing Municipal Equality Index (MEI) scorecard criteria
  • LGBTQ+ youth programming
  • Auditing City policies for gender neutral language
  • Expanding resources and training for City staff

2019 MEI Scorecard

Committee Members:

  • Heather Cox, Communications & Public Involvement Office, Co-Chair |
  • Tess Schmitz, City Attorney's Office, Co-Chair |
  • Patty Netherton, Municipal Court
  • Christine Arnott, HR
  • Amanda Mansfield, FC Moves
  • Lauren Nagle, FC Moves
  • Shane Patterson, Natural Areas
  • Yasmine Haldeman, Community Development & Neighborhood Services
  • Kristy Volesky, Police Services
  • Laura Lunsford, Police Services
  • Carol Thomas, City Manager's Office, Executive Liaison
  • Teresa Roche, HR Liaison & Executive Sponsor
  • John Feyen, Police Liaison
  • Abigail Bencomo, Police Liaison


  • Jackie Kozak Thiel, Sustainability Services
  • Amanda King, Communications & Public Involvement
  • Honore Depew, City Manager's Office
  • Janet Freeman, Social Sustainability
  • Catherine MacGowan, HR
  • Jensen Morgan, Environmental Services
  • Peter Robertson, Parks
  • Julia Sullivan, Utilities
  • Katherine Bailey, Utilities
  • Mary-Claire Geiss, Neighborhood Services
  • Nick Heimann, FC Moves
  • Meaghan Overton, Planning
  • Julie Wenzel, Neighborhood Services
  • Marci White, Finance
  • Eric Lahman, Utilities
  • Jaime Jones, Cultural Services
  • William Bethurum, Transfort
  • Kellie Gorman, Utilities
  • Brittany Depew, Social Sustainability
  • Mallory Gallegos, Transfort
  • Jessica Prentice, Finance
  • Beth Sowder, Social Sustainability
  • Heidi Wagner, Natural Areas
  • Michelle Becker, Utilities