Skip to main content

City Clerk

Human Relations Commission

Carol Thomas
(970) 416-4254

Subscribe to receive the Boards and Commissions newsletter

View our newsletter archive


The Human Relations Commission was established by City Council to enhance the acceptance and respect for diversity through educational programs and activities, and to embrace inclusion of individuals reflective of characteristics such as race, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, physical abilities/qualities, sex, sexual /affectional orientation, age, culture, different ideas and perspectives, familial status, immigration status, geopgraphic background, marital status, national origin, religious and spiritual beliefs, socioeconomic status, and veteran status. The Commission often coordinates these efforts with other City boards and commissions, community groups and organizations. The Commission also oversees the Citizen Liaison Program, and presents the annual Human Relations Award to recognize those citizens who have advanced the cause of human rights through their volunteer efforts.

Recommended Qualifications

No special skills required; interest and desire to promote goals outlined above desirable.

Meeting Schedule

Second Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. | View meeting schedule

Meeting Location

300 LaPorte Avenue, City Hall, Council Information Center (CIC) main level

Time Commitment

6-8 hours/month

Current Members

December 31, 2018 - Julia Mackewich
December 31, 2019 - Colleen Conway and Jessica Gengler
December 31, 2020 - Kimberly Allison, Susan Mathre, and Cynthia Davis
December 31, 2021 - Victor Smith, Jean Runyon, and Hillel Katzir

Council Liaison

Bob Overbeck