Skip to main content

Human Relations Award

Human Relations Award#

Human Relations Award

Sponsored by: The Fort Collins Human Relations Commission

About the Award

For over two decades, the Human Relations Awards have recognized individuals and organizations in our community that work to advance diversity, equity and inclusion. These awards and the work they honor take on greater significance as our community continues to navigate the extraordinary challenges of an ongoing global pandemic and the social inequities it compounds.  

These annual awards recognize work in the following categories: 

  1. Public Service Personnel Award (individual or work team who works in a public service arena such as healthcare, education, social services, transportation, libraries, or others.) 
  2. Individual Award 
  3. Youth Award (18 & younger) 
  4. Organization (non-profit and for-profit) 

Nominations for the 2021 Awards must be received by Sunday, October 24, 2021. See below for more information.

How to Submit a Nomination#

How to Submit a Nomination

Nominations may be submitted in all categories throughout the year. To be considered for the 2021 Awards, nominations must be received by Sunday, October 24, 2021

The nomination form requests a description of the nominee’s contributions to building a safe, inclusive and welcoming community for all. Nominations are carefully considered by the Human Relations Commission members.  

All award recipients, their families, friends and nominator are recognized and celebrated at the Human Relations Award ceremony held in December. Recipients are honored by the Mayor, City Councilmembers and other City leaders.   

The 2021 Human Relations Award ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, December 7, from 4:00-5:00 p.m. Please check back for location information.     

Submit a Nomination: 

Online forms are automatically sent to after clicking "Submit". 

Downloaded forms may be sent as an email attachment to, or sent via postal mail to the address provided on the form.   

2020 HRC Award Recipients#

Senior Award: Erma Woodfin

Public Service Personnel Award: Chief of Police Jeff Swoboda

Adult Award: Miriam Carrasquel-Nagy

Adult Award: Patricia Miller

Organization Award: The Family Center/La Familia (Accepted by Gloria Kat, on behalf of La Familia)