Skip to main content

Marijuana

Contact Information

Do's and Don't of MMJ

Marijuana FAQs

Marijuana Businesses and Marijuana Growing

Who is eligible to apply for a retail marijuana store license?

Only licensed Fort Collins medical marijuana centers, which are in good standing, are allowed to apply for a retail marijuana store license.

Who is eligible to apply for a retail marijuana cultivation license?

Only a licensed retail marijuana store or licensed retail marijuana manufacturing facility may be licensed to operate a cultivation facility. Cultivation facilities may only sell or distribute marijuana to the facilities owned and operated by the owner of the cultivation facility. All product must be tested and labeled.

Who is eligible to apply for a retail marijuana product manufacturing license?

Any person who meets the owner/application requirements may apply for a retail marijuana product manufacturing license in the City of Fort Collins. All production batches must be tested and labeled prior to sale.

Can I legally grow marijuana at home?

Adults 21 years of age and older may grow up to 6 marijuana plants per person. No more than 12 total plants are allowed per residence regardless of the number of adults living in the home. All plants and products must be kept in an enclosed, locked space.

No growing is allowed in any multifamily housing including apartments, duplexes, condos, or townhomes. Growing is not allowed in any detached buildings (sheds, barns, etc.)

Can I grow marijuana outside?

No. No outdoor cultivation is allowed.

Can I sell the marijuana I grow at home?

No. Home grown marijuana, no matter the form, may not be sold to others.

Business and Private Property Owners

Can individual property owners restrict or prohibit marijuana use or possession on their property?

Yes. Any property owner may limit marijuana use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, sale, or growth of marijuana on or in his or her property.

Can employers restrict or prohibit marijuana use or possession by employees at the workplace?

Yes. Employers are allowed to regulate or prohibit the use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, or sale of marijuana in the workplace. Employers may also enact policies restricting the use of marijuana by employees.

Does marijuana smoke fall under provisions of the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act (including those related to hotel/motel rooms and restaurants)?

Yes. The Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act prohibits smoking in restaurants and limits the number of hotel or motel rooms in which smoking is permitted. A hotel or motel wishing to permit marijuana smoke in individual rooms would need to keep 75% of the rooms smoke free.

Residents and Neighbors

Can I legally grow marijuana at home?

Adults 21 years of age and older may grow up to 6 marijuana plants per person. No more than 12 total plants are allowed per residence regardless of the number of adults living in the home. All plants and products must be kept in an enclosed, locked space and growers should take extra precautions to prevent children and pets from gaining access to any marijuana or marijuana products.

No growing is allowed in any multifamily housing including apartments, duplexes, condos, or townhomes. Growing is not allowed in any detached buildings (sheds, barns, etc.)

How is marijuana smoke treated differently from tobacco smoke in terms of where it is permitted?

Both marijuana and tobacco smoke are subject to the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act, which prohibits smoking in most indoor places accessible to the public.

It is illegal to consume marijuana in public, including marijuana edibles.

What should I do if I see illegal use of marijuana?

Call the Police Services non-emergency line at 970-221-6540.

What is the difference between medical and retail marijuana?

Retail: Retail marijuana is sold by licensed stores to persons 21 and older for recreational use.

Medical: Medical marijuana requires a state red card (patient card), which can only be obtained by Colorado residents with a recommendation from a doctor that a patient suffers from a debilitating medical condition that may benefit from medical marijuana. Medical marijuana patients can obtain marijuana from a licensed center and may purchase/possess up to 2 ounces.

How old do I have to be to purchase, possess or consume retail marijuana?

You must be 21 and older to buy, possess or use retail marijuana. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.

Where can I purchase retail marijuana?

Those 21 and older can purchase retail marijuana at licensed retail stores.

Where am I allowed to consume retail marijuana?

Retail marijuana is intended for private, personal use. Such use is only legal in certain locations not open or accessible to the public. Marijuana may not be consumed openly or publicly.

Can I consume marijuana in public?

No, it is illegal to consume marijuana in public.

This includes but is not limited to areas accessible to the public such as transportation facilities, schools, amusement/sporting/music venues, parks, playgrounds, sidewalks and roads and outdoor and rooftop cafes. It is also illegal to smoke at indoor-but-public locations like bars, restaurants and common areas in buildings.

Can I possess marijuana? And how much?

Since Amendment 64 went into effect in late 2012, adults 21 and older have been allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of retail marijuana.

How much retail marijuana can I purchase at one time?

Colorado residents 21 and older can purchase and possess up to 1 ounce of retail marijuana at a time.  Non-residents can purchase up to ¼ ounce at a time. 

Can I consume marijuana in a licensed retail store?

No, it is illegal to consume marijuana in or around a licensed store. It is also illegal to smoke at indoor-but-public locations such as bars, restaurants and common areas in buildings.

Are marijuana "social clubs" or "coffee shops" permitted?

No. These businesses are not permitted.

Are the rules different for possession and consumption of edible marijuana than for marijuana that can be smoked?

No. Possession laws are the same for all retail marijuana types, and public consumption is always illegal, regardless of form. 

Can I have marijuana in my car?

Yes. Marijuana may be carried in cars but it may not be in an open container and cannot cross state boundaries. It is illegal to use or consume marijuana in a motor vehicle and it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. 

Is there a DUI-like equivalent for driving under the influence of marijuana?

Yes. It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana and it can result in a DUI, just like alcohol. Anyone with 5 nanograms or more of delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol (known as THC) per milliliter in whole blood (CRS 42-4-1301) while driving can be arrested for DUI.