Skip to main content


Press Releases

City Honors Five with Friend of Preservation Awards

This press release was posted 1,612 days ago and may contain inaccurate information.
Contact Information
  • Josh Weinberg
  • Preservation Planner
  • 970-221-6206
On May 21, 2013, Mayor Karen Weitkunat and Ron Sladek, Chairman of the Landmark Preservation Commission, gave out five awards for excellence in historic preservation. The honorees are:

Kevin and Suzanne Murray received an award for their efforts to designate the 100 block of South Whitcomb Street as a Fort Collins Landmark district. Kelly Ohlson was recognized for his leadership and dedication to protecting the historic resources of Fort Collins and Larimer County. Wattle & Daub Contractors were given an award for their high standard of excellence in historic preservation. Judith and Irwin Winterowd were recognized for their outstanding restoration of the Seckner Brothers Building at 216 Linden Street. The City of Fort Collins Natural Areas Program was recognized for its outstanding restoration of four historic structures at Bobcat Ridge Natural Area.

Begun in 1985, the Friend of Preservation awards are the highest preservation honor given by the Landmark Preservation Commission. Each May, the awards are given to a person, organization, or project for exemplary work in preservation, rehabilitation, restoration or reconstruction done over the past year.

For more information on the city’s efforts in preservation, visit