Skip to main content

News

Press Releases

Connect with Nature--Become a Master Naturalist Volunteer

Released on Friday, February 9, 2018
Contact Information

The City of Fort Collins Master is seeking volunteer Master Naturalists who care about natural areas to share their enthusiasm with others. Volunteers learn about ecology, public speaking, and how to lead a variety of programs (including school field trips) on the natural areas. Master Naturalists also form lasting friendships while socializing with other volunteers with the same interests.

Volunteer naturalists outreach opportunities are many and varied, and designed to fit all schedules. Class size is limited for this highly popular program. Register here, sign up for Activity #207414-01.

COSTS and REGISTRATION

The training program costs $172.00 which is due at registration. Fifty percent of registration fee is reimbursed if you become a volunteer educator with NAD and volunteer at least 15 hours within six months of certification. All materials, field lunches, and snacks are supplied. Registration opens February 8, 2018. Sign up for Activity #207415-01.

Master Naturalists learn:

  • basic ecology about local natural areas;
  • teaching techniques, public speaking and interpretation tips;
  • values and benefits that natural areas add to our lives;
  • locations and secrets of little-known natural areas.

2018 SCHEDULE

Attendance at each training day is required:

Tuesday, March 20, 9:00-1:30

Thursday, March 22, 9:00-1:30

Saturday, March 24, 9:00-3:00

Tuesday, March 27, 9:00-1:30

Thursday, March 29, 9:00-3:00

Tuesday, April 3, 9:00-1:30

Thursday, April 5, 9:00-1:30

Saturday, April 7, 9:00-4:30

Tuesday, April 10, 9:00-1:30

Thursday, April 12, 9:00-1:30

Saturday, April 14, 8:00-12:00

Tuesday, April 17, 8:30-4:30

Thursday, April 19, 9:00-1:30

You must attend all training dates and times. Background check is required.

Complete job description or contact Sue Kenney at c2tlbm5leUBmY2dvdi5jb20= or 970-224-6118.