Skip to main content

News

Press Releases

Eagle Watches at Fossil Creek Reservoir Natural Area

This press release was posted 854 days ago and may contain inaccurate information.

Show archived press release
Contact Information
  • Sue Kenney, City of Fort Collins Natural Areas Education and Outreach Coordinator, c2tlbm5leUBmY2dvdi5jb20=, 970-224-6118
The eagles will soon be back! Bald eagles from northern states and Canada make Fort Collins their winter home. They journey south each fall to spend the winter in relatively milder temperatures. They spend nights in communal roosts in cottonwood trees near Fossil Creek Reservoir. City of Fort Collins Master Naturalists will be stationed at the viewing pier and/or amphitheater to explain the eagles’ natural history and help visitors view them through spotting scopes and binoculars. Eagles can be up to 1.25 miles away and not easily photographed.

Eagle Watches require a short walk along a paved trail to an amphitheater or viewing pier. Please note that the viewing pier is open year round but Cattail Flats Trail is closed in the winter to prevent disturbance to the eagles. Fossil Creek Reservoir Natural Area is located on the north side of Carpenter Road/ CR 32, approximately one mile west of I-25, or two miles east of Timberline. The approximate address is 3340 Carpenter Road.

Drop in any time during these programs. They are free and no registration is required. If temperatures are below freezing, or it’s windy or foggy, or unsafe to drive, the Eagle Watches may be canceled. Be sure to visit https://www.fcgov.com/naturalareas for weather cancelations and updates before you go. Cancelations will be posted at least two hours before program start times.

Eagle Watch Dates and Times:

Friday, December 16, 3:00-4:30
Saturday, December 17, 3:00-4:30 CANCELED
Friday, December 30, 3:00-4:30
Saturday, December 31, 3:00-4:30
Friday, January 6, 3:30-5:00 CANCELED
Saturday, January 7, 3:30-5:00
Friday, January 13, 3:30-5:00
Saturday, January 14, 3:30-5:00
Saturday, January 21, 3:30-5:00
Friday, January 27, 3:30-5:00
Saturday, January 28, 3:30-5:00
Friday, February 3, 4:00-5:30
Saturday, February 4, 4:00-5:30
Friday, February 10, 4:00-5:30
Saturday, February 11, 4:00-5:30
Friday, February 17, 4:00-5:30
Saturday, February 18, 4:00-5:30