Website home about our city

City Council

Physical Address: City Hall West, 300 LaPorte Ave., Fort Collins, CO 80521
Mailing Address: PO Box 580, Fort Collins, CO 80522-0580
Phone: (970)221-6878
Fax: (970)224-6107

Need to contact City Council? Try our City Leadership page »
2011-2013 City Council End-of-Term Report

City Council Discussion Work Session Items

On the second and fourth Tuesday of every month, City Council conducts a 'work session'. The purpose of a work session is to provide Council an opportunity to discuss issues in depth. Unlike regular Council meetings, there is no public input during a work session.

The Fort Collins City Council is composed of six district Council members who are elected on a non-partisan basis for a term of four years, and a Mayor who is elected at-large for a two-year term. The Mayor Pro Tem is chosen from among the entire Council and serves a term of two years.

The City Council serves as the community's legislative body, having responsibilities for enacting City ordinances, appropriating funds to conduct City business, and providing policy direction to City staff. By provision of the City Charter, Council has the power of appointment over the City Manager, City Attorney, and Municipal Court Judge.

The Mayor is paid $1,015.00 per month for his countless hours of civic duties. City Councilmembers each earn $680.00 per month for their leadership roles.

Email Transparency Project

Under the Colorado Open Records Act (CORA) all emails to and from City Council are subject to public disclosure, with limited exceptions. To promote transparency, emails will be visible in an online archive, unless the sender puts #PRIVATE in the subject line of the email. However, the City of Fort Collins can't guarantee that email to or from Council marked "#PRIVATE" will remain private under CORA.

Accessing the Email Archive

NOTE: The Login ID and password are case sensitive

If your questions or comments pertain to City services, please refer to Access Fort Collins at, a one-stop shop to get your questions and comments automatically directed to a staff member who can assist you, or read the FAQ.