Skip to main content


Press Releases

City Council Seeks Resident Feedback on District 1 Council Candidates

Released on Thursday, January 3, 2019
Contact Information

Fort Collins residents can now share feedback online about the nine candidates who are vying to fill the District 1 Councilmember seat vacated by Bob Overbeck.

Overbeck resigned his Council seat January 1 after being elected Larimer County Assessor in the November general election. City Council interviewed candidates at its regular meeting on January 2. Those interviews are available for viewing on FCTV starting at the 44-minute mark.

Council will accept online feedback on the candidates through January 14 at Council will make an appointment at the next regular meeting on January 15. The new District 1 Councilmember will be sworn in January 22.

Residents can respond through the form that is on the web, can email Council, can bring a letter/note, or can attend the January 15 meeting and participate during public participation.

The nine candidates, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Nate Budd
  • Danielle Buttke
  • E. John Clarke
  • Richard Cress
  • Jerry Gavaldon
  • Susan Gutowsky
  • Jessica Hazlett
  • Joseph Somodi III
  • Christopher Staten

Any selected applicant interested in the seat long-term must run in the April 2 election. For more information about the process, go to