COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN 2001 ANNUAL REPORT

INTRODUCTION

The Commission on the Status of Women primarily focused its energies this year on education. To that end, the Commission researched current data on education, income, employment, health care, child care, transportation and housing and presented an updated version of its previous report <u>The Economic Realities Facing</u> <u>Women: A Proposal for Advancement</u> at a city-wide event on the CSU campus, sponsored by the American Association of University Women and the Office of the Women's Programs and Studies at CSU.

ANNUAL COMMISSION ACTIVITIES

The Commission continued to increase public visibility of women's contributions by sponsoring the following events:

Women's History Month Essay Contest – Poudre School District junior high students commemorated National Women's History Month by participating in our annual essay contest. The students were asked to write about a woman from their own history who had been influential or had been a positive role model.

Commission members, with guidance from the former Director of the Colorado State University Writing Program, created a rubric/scoring sheet that standardized the reading and selection of winners for the essay contest. In addition to helping commission members more objectively select winners, the scoring guidelines may be distributed to area teachers who are participating in the contest, so that they have a clearer notion of the standards the students should aim to achieve in their essays. This scoring guide will be revised and updated each year.

The response from the schools was excellent, in spite of the teachers and students involved in the state CSAP test. There were 167 essays this year from Lincoln, Lesher, Boltz, and Preston junior highs. The winners were presented with certificates and monetary awards in a ceremony held at City Council Chambers on March 26, 2001, Mayor Martinez presenting.

7 th Grade winners:	Raisa Slutsky-Moore – Lesher Jeavon Ehler – Lesher
8 th Grade winners:	David Dubois – Lincoln Megan Charles – Lincoln Danielle Rae Feland – Preston
9 th Grade winners:	Ted Cushman – Lincoln Abbey Farris – Lincoln Avalon Zimmerman – Lincoln Zach Wagner – Lesher

All the students received a \$50 gift certificate to the Foothills Fashion Mall. Nine \$25.00 gift certificates were donated by Foothills Fashion Mall and the Commission contributed the other half.

Mayor Martinez also recognized the teachers for their efforts and participation.

Colleen Conrad – Lincoln Briton Glaser – Preston Marty Marsh – Lesher Renata Stanton – Lesher Tony Vandiver – Lincoln

The Commission would also like to recognize Tom Tonoli of the Poudre School District Services for helping us distribute the contest packets to the teachers.

Marcile N. Wood Award – The Commission again sponsored this event on August 27 in conjunction with Women's Equality Day. The Marcile N. Wood Award is presented to an outstanding member of the community who has had a positive impact on the status of women in Fort Collins.

Commission members revised the nomination form for the Marcile N. Award, making the form clearer, more "user-friendly" and more comprehensive. They created a new announcement and an accompanying letter explaining and calling for nominations, which was then sent to appropriate individuals, organizations, and groups on the Commission's mailing list.

Mayor Martinez presented a plaque to this year's winner, Sister Mary Alice Murphy of St. Joseph's Catholic Church for her outstanding community service, especially in areas of affordable housing and work with low income families. David Lauer nominated her. The Commission also recognized two honorees for their contribution to the community: Honoree Linda Mahan who was nominated by Jane Everham and Honoree Marjorie McTaggert who was nominated by John Roberts.

OTHER ACTIVITIES

Commission members supported women's fight against violence by attending March 2001 "Take Back the Night March" on CSU campus.

Commission members gathered current information by attending a presentation at CSU, "The Status Project: Women and Girls in Colorado," sponsored by the Women's Foundation of Colorado, November 2001.

On November 27, 2001, Commission members supported the efforts of the Women's Foundation of Colorado by attending a local awareness event at the Lincoln Center networking with dozens of other local women's groups.

Commission members spoke with a member of the Senior Center about issues affecting the needs of older women in Ft. Collins.

MEMBERSHIP CHANGES

Election of Officers in 2001

CHAIR: Annmarie Evans Co-CHAIR: Haemi Cha

Terms expired or resignations were tendered for: Rita Anastasio – term expired Sharon Bringleson - resigned Tam Frager - resigned Lena Sunthankar - resigned Deb Tamlin – resigned