Website home about our city
fcvote logo
Logo Terms of Use »

Regular Municipal Elections

Regular municipal elections for the City of Fort Collins are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in April of odd-numbered years. At each regular election, voters will choose a Mayor (who serves a two-year term) and three Councilmembers (who serve four-year terms). Voters in Districts 1, 3, and 5 will be electing representatives at the next regular election held on April 4, 2017. In addition to electing representatives, voters are usually presented with ballot issues, such as Charter amendments, financial issues, or initiated or referred ordinances or resolutions.

Special Elections

Special elections may be called by ordinance of the City Council and may be held at any time. Special elections are often held in conjunction with the Larimer County General Election, held in November of even-numbered years, or the Larimer County Coordinated Election, held in November of odd-numbered years. Special elections are usually limited to consideration of ballot issues.


All municipal elections are non-partisan.

Election Contact Information

Municipal Elections:

City Clerk's Office
City Hall West, 300 LaPorte Ave.
Fort Collins, CO 80521

County/State Elections:

Larimer County Clerk's Office
200 West Oak Street
Fort Collins, CO 80521